Massage Protocol
843.785.7822

  • Dress casually for your massage session.
  • Come hydrated. It is important that you drink plenty of water before and after your massage.
  • Do not press yourself for time. Massage should be a relaxing experience and will be less productive if you are on the run.
  • Keep voices in the clinic at a low volume and keep talking to a minimum to ensure the comfort and relaxation of clients. This is for your benefit and comfort as well.
  • Cell phones are disruptive to the relaxing atmosphere we wish to maintain for our clients. Please turn off your cell phone ringer before entering the office.

  • Cancellation: We kindly ask for your courtesy and understanding. A cancellation of less than 24 hours will result in the full payment for that service.
  • Schedule your next appointment at the end of each session to guarantee the time and day you would like to have your next massage.
  • Discounted massage packages are available. A prepaid series of 5 sessions is a savings of $25.00 and a prepaid series of 10 sessions will save a full 10 percent.
  • Credit card detail is required for the scheduling of each massage session. If you would like to use the same card for payment, please bring the physical card at the time of your appointment.
  • Gift Certificates are available at the front desk or by phone. We will kindly mail them to the recipient if desired.
  • Receipts are available upon request.
  • Gratuity is your personal choice and is completely optional. If you wish to add it to your bill, it is kindly accepted and appreciated by our therapists. We appreciate each client for choosing us as your complementary healthcare providers.
  • Prices are subject to change without notice.

Contraindications for Massage

Soft tissue manipulation should be avoided during the acute stage of an injury. Inflammation, as indicated by redness, swelling, heat, pain, and loss of use, has a tendency to be aggravated by pressure. Passive mobilization can also be harmful during this acute stage. Ice packs and rest are the appropriate protocol for such injuries. The following indicate that a client should avoid massage unless otherwise advised by a physician. If there is any question, please contact your physician.

  • First 24-48 hours after an injury
  • Bleeding
  • Edema (swelling)
  • Calcification of a tendon or muscle
  • Complete insensitivity to pain or touch
  • Ruptured tendon
  • Separated shoulder
  • Conditions requiring surgery
  • Constant and progressive pain
  • Dislocations and Fractures
  • Painful, hot or swollen joints
  • Poor general health
  • Referred cardiac pain
  • Sharp, stabbing pain
  • Some types of cancer
South Carolina Massage Laws

As of early 2006, approximately 35 states mandate massage regulation and licensing. Massage schools throughout the country are educating future massage practitioners and equipping them with the knowledge and skills to practice massage safely and effectively at entry level positions. Anatomy, ethics, and safety to the public are among the required curriculum in massage schools which range from 500 to 800 hours of instruction. Licenses must be renewed in South Carolina every two years. Advanced education is available for those practitioners who wish to educate themselves in specialized areas. These courses can be in areas such as medically-oriented massage, Asian oriented bodywork, therapeutic and sport oriented massage and more.

South Carolina regulates massage therapy under the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation, Division of Professional Occupational Licensing Boards. South Carolina massage laws mandate a 500-hour course of study with a specialized curriculum and a passing score on an approved national certification exam. Six continuing education hours per year must be attained for license renewal. Massage laws are written for the protection of the public first and foremost. The client is encouraged to gather the information necessary to find a qualified massage practitioner. There are several professional massage therapy organizations which mandate a higher skill level for its members. Organizations, such as the American Massage Therapy Association offer a 'Find a massage therapist' locator service for the consumer. You may contact the AMTA at www.amtamassage.org.

Listed below are some of the South Carolina requirements.

  • A massage practitioner must be licensed to practice and the license number must be on all advertising material.
  • A practitioner's license must be displayed in a conspicuous place.
  • Client intake forms are a standard of practice that all practitioners should use.
  • Draping laws mandate that the client is to be covered at all times. The practitioner will only uncover the area of the body being massaged.
To review a complete list of massage laws in South Carolina, please click here to visit the Government web site.




Services | Massage Benefits | Prices | Make Appointment | Protocol & Laws | Reviews | Contact Us | Home

verified by healthprofs.com verified by healthprofs.com Directory
MASSAGE THERAPY
Kim Brewer, Vicki Economou & Associates
843.785.7822

Website Developed by Webheads Inc.